Patient Reviews

Finding a provider who will truly listen to your concerns is not always easy. Here at Specialists in Gastroenterology, our patients are always our top priority. Our gastrointestinal providers create a thoughtful, caring environment where you can feel heard and all of your GI concerns are addressed. You can trust us to provide you with customized care for you and your condition. Feel free to browse through our reviews, so that you can see for yourself the time and dedication that our specialists give to each one of our patients in the St. Louis, MO community.

5.0 Review from E.A. Source: Google Mar 21 2024

"Excellent doctor. He really took his time with me. Very happy to be his patient."

5.0 Review from Q.W. Source: Google Mar 21 2024

"Very nice, disciplined and very professional 👏"

5.0 Review from D.B. Source: Google Mar 20 2024

"Fast, friendly, and courteous. Really appreciate the changes made to the check in procedures!"

5.0 Review from M.T. Source: Google Mar 20 2024

"Really love and appreciate the wonderful staff for the care. Thank you very much"

5.0 Review from M.E. Source: Google Mar 06 2024

"Dr thyssen and his support staff were very professional in letting me know the process in advance. The staff were very friendly and interested on my well being and comfort."

5.0 Review from M.D. Source: Google Mar 06 2024

"Professional Friendly Courteous & Puntual"

5.0 Review from S.B. Source: Google Mar 03 2024

"Dr. Thyssen is so very caring and professional. I can not say enough grea things about how special he makes you feel seeing him."

5.0 Review from D.B. Source: Google Mar 02 2024

"With a family history of colon cancer, I have been to see Dr. Thyssen regularly, since I was in my 40s. He has an amazing bedside manner and his post op report is given along with photos to clearly and quickly inform patients of results. I have recommended him to quite a few friends. My whole family agrees!"

5.0 Review from R.F. Source: Google Feb 25 2024

"I had no problems at this place back Thursday February 22nd. All of the employees were very nice. They kept apologizing for the delay on the Office visit. Dr. Erik Thyssen was very nice. Had to do blood work and I had no problem with that in the office."

5.0 Review from E.J. Source: Google Feb 24 2024

"Everyone from the front desk to the nurse to Dr. Thyssen were friendly, polite and welcoming us on our first visit to this office. Dr. Thyssen asked questions and listened to our answers. After his examination and further conversation he gave me recommendations for ongoing care. By the time I checked out he'd already had his notes prepared and printed. I found Dr. Thyssen to be engaged in getting to know me as a new patient and an extremely pleasant conversationalist. It was an excellent start to what will be an ongoing relationship with him as my GI doctor."

5.0 Review from R.G. Source: Google Feb 24 2024

"Procedure went very well, from prep instructions all the way to recovery. Well done."

5.0 Review from C.J. Source: Google Feb 24 2024

"An excellent first encounter with Dr Thyssen. He was thorough and impressive with his thoughts, and we mutually forged my path forward under his care."

5.0 Review from R.H. Source: Google Feb 17 2024

"Great customer service. I have gone to Dr. Thyssen for approximately 10 years and ALWAYS satisfied. After appointment followup great also."

5.0 Review from J.G. Source: Google Feb 11 2024

"Dr.T is professional and has a good sense of humor. His support staff were very good, also."

5.0 Review from C.S. Source: Google Feb 10 2024

"great doctor and office. efficient, friendly and professional"

5.0 Review from H.M. Source: Google Feb 09 2024

"Dr Thyssen and medical staff were very professional and provided excellent care."

5.0 Review from H. Source: Google Feb 01 2024

"Dr Thyssen is a wonderful doctor with a great bed side manner. Everyone in his office was very friendly too."

5.0 Review from P.F. Source: Google Feb 01 2024

"Dr Thyssen is knowledgeable, friendly and professional.!"

5.0 Review from D.C. Source: Google Jan 27 2024

"Always amazed at how all of you over there turn what’s considered an awful ordeal into a friendly, informative, efficient -and yes, astoundingly, an overall pleasant experience! You’re magicians!"

5.0 Review from P.R. Source: Google Jan 26 2024

"Everyone is so nice, you feel like your grandma is treating you.I would recommend to all my friends and family."

5.0 Review from L.S. Source: Google Jan 24 2024

"Dr. Thyssen is the best! An excellent physician, I would never go anywhere else. He’s kind, personal and attentive to his patients. Wonder Dr!"

5.0 Review from M.G. Source: Google Jan 21 2024

"Fine"

5.0 Review from G.Z. Source: Google Jan 19 2024

"I have never had a bad experience here .Everyone is so nice and helpful."

5.0 Review from J.H. Source: Google Jan 19 2024

"He is very kind and through and explains results very clearly."

5.0 Review from P.F. Source: Google Jan 19 2024

"One of the best and most fun experiences at a doctors appointment EVER! Erik is pure mojo magic and made the experience for me truly. Go!"

4.0 Review from D.H. Source: Google Jan 19 2024

"MD Thyssen & his secretary Tonya is great!"

5.0 Review from T.D. Source: Google Jan 18 2024

"Had a great experience with Dr. Thyssen"

5.0 Review from C.L. Source: Google Jan 17 2024

"I have been a patient of Dr. Thyssen since 2012. He truly is one of the best doctors I have ever known. He’s very compassionate toward his patients and is extremely knowledgeable in his field. I would recommend him to anyone who has gastrointestinal issues."

5.0 Review from K.K. Source: Google Jan 13 2024

"Have used Dr. Thyssen for almost 25 years. I can’t say enough good things. He’s an amazing human being. I’m blessed to have him in my life."

5.0 Review from B.F. Source: Google Dec 28 2023

"Dr Thyssen, is very knowledgeable, takes time to answer all you're questions and is very kind. Friendly staff as well."

5.0 Review from E.E. Source: Google Dec 23 2023

"I have left multiple messages stating that if one has to have a colonoscopy, this is the place to have it done. He is kind and gentle, a rare treat these days."

5.0 Review from R.W. Source: Google Dec 21 2023

"I would not go anywhere else dr. Thyssen and staff are friendly and always there if you need help"

5.0 Review from C.A. Source: Google Dec 21 2023

"Perfect place for all issues gastro-enteral."

5.0 Review from D.S. Source: Google Dec 07 2023

"Very professional and caring"

5.0 Review from J.W. Source: Google Dec 06 2023

"The facility and staff here are excellent. I cannot recommend them any higher. I have seen Dr. Thyssen twice. He is always pleasant and very professional."

5.0 Review from A.O. Source: Google Dec 02 2023

"Very very awesome staff, I love Dr.Thyssen very funny and friendly, Thank you."

5.0 Review from B.K. Source: Google Dec 02 2023

"Dr Thyssen is a great doctor."

5.0 Review from G.W. Source: Google Nov 20 2023

"Very good Experience"

5.0 Review from J.A. Source: Google Nov 17 2023

"Great doctor! No one enjoys a colonoscopy more than me and I'm lucky enough to get them every 5 years! Dr. Thyssen and the surgery center were wonderful!"

5.0 Review from M.W. Source: Google Nov 17 2023

"Dr. Thyssen and the staff were very friendly and professional. I felt very safe and comfortable throughout my colonoscopy."

5.0 Review from M.R. Source: Google Nov 16 2023

"greeted and handled with patience .. Dr. Thyssen always so attentive to your needs, to try find out the problem of any issues. He and the staff are so kind"

5.0 Review from D.N. Source: Google Nov 16 2023

"Everyone is always very courteous and accommodating. The staff definitely go above and beyond. Dr. Thyssen is an amazing doctor!! He takes time to listen to any questions or concerns I have. I never feel like my time with him is rushed. He may have other patients waiting to see him or his next patient procedure is ready, he always makes sure my questions or concerns are answered."

5.0 Review from S.H. Source: Google Nov 14 2023

"Wonderful people, helpful, fantastic Dr. Thyssen, nice to have all procedures in one building. Upper endoscopy, colonoscopies, blood drawn, infusion center, love Katie"

5.0 Review from L.L. Source: Google Nov 10 2023

"Dr. Thyssen’s office is the best. From check in to check out. Highly recommend this office."

5.0 Review from I.B. Source: Google Nov 10 2023

"Dr Thyssen is a wonderful Dr. Personable and always informative. Have used him for many years and recommend him 110%"

5.0 Review from J.H. Source: Google Nov 08 2023

"Dr Thyssen is the Best, he is so friendly & takes his time talking to you about your procedure...I trust him completely. The Staff are very kind & caring... I would Recommend Dr E.Thyssen to everyone!"

5.0 Review from C.W. Source: Google Nov 07 2023

"It really seemed like he cared about me. He took time with me which was appreciated."

5.0 Review from M.J. Source: Google Oct 29 2023

"Amazing office staff & wonderful doctor. I finally found a doctor who cares, listens and wants you to feel better."

5.0 Review from P.K. Source: Google Oct 28 2023

"The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Dr. Thyssen was thorough and made sure I understood everything. Dr. Thyssen called me the next day to give me the results of my bloodwork."

5.0 Review from M.B. Source: Google Oct 27 2023

"Appt. Was to discuss and assess NAFLD. Dr. Thyssen is a very competent doctor, expert in his field. He explains everything calmly, honestly and thoroughly. His bedside manner is better than about 75% of the doctors I have seen over the years. I am confident in his ability to address my situation!"

5.0 Review from M.R. Source: Google Oct 27 2023

"greeted and handled with patience .. Dr. Thyssen always so attentive to your needs, to try find out the problem of any issues"

5.0 Review from N.T. Source: Google Oct 27 2023

"I’m a new patient of Dr. Thyssen. Our first appointment he listened, asked questions, ordered bloodwork immediately, scheduled me for testing, and mostly showed a great deal of compassion. It seemed that he cared. Also the staff so far is very professional and kind. I appreciate it very much! I hope he finds all the answers and that time proves he truly cares."

5.0 Review from G.N. Source: Google Oct 20 2023

"Professional and expedient making the procedure seamless. Everyone was very kind and considerate, taking time to listen to the patient."

5.0 Review from T.H. Source: Google Oct 19 2023

"He was compassionate and understanding and listened without judgment as I was going through a health crisis🙏"

5.0 Review from P.R. Source: Google Sep 26 2023

"Excellent experience! Efficient and professional process. Dr Thyssen and staff are very caring and compassionate."

5.0 Review from G.T. Source: Google Sep 26 2023

"Very professional and timely."

5.0 Review from G.E. Source: Google Sep 25 2023

"Very professional and timely."

5.0 Review from S.M. Source: Google Aug 26 2023

"Dr. Erik Thyssen is absolutely the most caring, compassionate doctor I ever had. I LOVE HIM, the staff there was EXCELLENT. Thank you all for a very pleasant experience."

5.0 Review from S.H. Source: Google Aug 26 2023

"Colonoscopy"

5.0 Review from M.H. Source: Google Aug 26 2023

"The best GI doc on the planet"

5.0 Review from B.B. Source: Google Aug 26 2023

"Very kind. Listens. Communicates well. Would recommend. Great staff."

4.0 Review from D.M. Source: Google Aug 26 2023

"Dr Thyssen and the surgical staff from AEC were very efficient and worked together as a very pleasant team. I would have given 5 stars except my phone call to SIG a week before the colonoscopy almost made me cancel. I called SIG to get a better clarification as to the pre-colonosocpy diet. Whoever I talked to seemingly got annoyed with me asking questions and I was told to stick to no seeds or I they wouldn't be able to do the procedure. How does anyone know they consider bananas to have seeds unless it's clearly stated. I found a diet sheet online from a credible university and followed that. Please include a diet sheet for patients to follow - people's interpretation of peel and and seeds vary. AEC didn't call me until the day before the case to pre-register me. For those two items I'm knocking off a star but the surgical team were the best."

5.0 Review from M.M. Source: Google Jul 26 2023

"Caring kind efficient"

5.0 Review from R.N. Source: Google Jul 26 2023

"Awesome…the whole staff…was wonderful…👏"

5.0 Review from J.T. Source: Google Jul 26 2023

"I never feel rushed in my appointments like I do at some of my other doctors. He is very thorough and you can tell he cares about his patients. 5 stars always!"

5.0 Review from A.C. Source: Google Jul 26 2023

"Dr Thyssen is the best! Such great bedside manner and he truly cares about his clients."

5.0 Review from C.“. Source: Google Jun 26 2023

"Clinical excellence + compassion and genuine caring wrapped up into one human being is the best way I can describe Dr. Thyssen. He is a skilled GI doc who listens, asks questions and works with you to make sure you are getting great care. I am a nurse and really picky about the doctors I choose for myself and my family - Dr. Thyssen is fabulous!"

5.0 Review from B.B. Source: Google Jun 26 2023

"Everyone was very friendly and professional Made things easy"

5.0 Review from S.P. Source: Google Jun 26 2023

"Outstanding performance of the colonoscopy. Dr. Thyssen showed care, compassion and competence. He is supported by an excellent , experienced staff throughout the process."

5.0 Review from J.C. Source: Google Jun 26 2023

"Everyone on the staff is dedicated to making sure the patient is cared for from the moment they walk in the door until the moment they are taken to their car by wheelchair. Dr. Thyssen is one of the best doctors in St. Louis and I am in good hands with him."

5.0 Review from L.M. Source: Google May 26 2023

"They walked me through the entire process and were very comforting and professional."

5.0 Review from R.V. Source: Google May 26 2023

"Amazing staff and Dr. Thyssen is a wonderful doctor."

5.0 Review from S.S. Source: Google May 26 2023

"When Tonya first took me back for my colonoscopy, I was concerned. She was not friendly or accommodating. She was harsh, hurried, and appeared very annoyed that I was there. After that introduction, the people got much better. The rest of the staff were friendly and nice. Dr Thyssen is always pleasant and I do have faith in his procedures."

5.0 Review from J.W. Source: Google May 26 2023

"This facility runs like clockwork. The staff is friendly and professional. They make sure you are comfortable throughout and make you feel cared for."

5.0 Review from S.W. Source: Google May 26 2023

"Dr Thyssen and everyone one his staff we welcoming and caring. I got lots of assurances and pats to comfort me. The Dr and all his staff are proficient and professional."

5.0 Review from B.B. Source: Google Apr 26 2023

"Great staff. Wonderful service. Dr. Thyssen was friendly, great and caring."

5.0 Review from D.M. Source: Google Apr 26 2023

"It was an amazing experience everyone was truly stars…"

5.0 Review from Google User Source: Google Apr 02 2023

"Very professional from check in to procedure check out. Would definitely recommend."

5.0 Review from H.G. Source: Google Mar 26 2023

"Very professional from check in to procedure check out. Would definitely recommend."

5.0 Review from M.S. Source: Google Mar 26 2023

"Compassionate and thorough."

5.0 Review from R.M. Source: Google Dec 26 2022

"Super sweet staff. They make you feel comfortable and very respectful. Procedure was quick and easy. See you in 10 yrs"

5.0 Review from K.S. Source: Google Dec 26 2022

"Great service and personal level attention"

5.0 Review from C.R. Source: Google Oct 26 2022

"The supporting personnel are all very efficient and professional. They go out of their way to make you comfortable. Dr. Thyssen is awesome. He is so positive and explains the test results very clearly. Even though it is years between tests, he never forgets you. He, too, is so professional."

5.0 Review from C.H. Source: Google Oct 26 2022

"Extremely caring GI!"

5.0 Review from G.L. Source: Google Oct 26 2022

"Always excellent care. Staff and Dr Thyssen are wonderful. Highly recommend SIG."

5.0 Review from J.U. Source: Google Oct 26 2022

"Dr. Erik Thyssen has a wonderful bedside manner. He made me feel comfortable prior to and after a very intimate procedure. The entire staff that worked with me made this go very smoothly and my anxiety level was very low. Thank you!"

5.0 Review from K.P. Source: Google Oct 26 2022

"Dr Thyssen is a compassionate and friendly physician. He took the time to explain everything to my mom and myself, and made us feel comfortable with the upcoming procedure. The employees at SIG were all easy to deal with, understanding and made my mom's experience comfortable and stress free. SIG has appointments and procedures all in one building which makes for ease of patient care. There's no running the gauntlet of hospital corridors, registration and bouncing from one area to another. I would highly recommend Dr Thyssen and his staff."

5.0 Review from K.H. Source: Google Oct 26 2022

"Dr. Thyssen is very knowledgeable, thorough and has a pleasant bedside manner. Thank you Dr. Thyssen and staff!"

5.0 Review from S.F. Source: Google Oct 26 2022

"Dr Thyssen explained everything and was very professional. The whole staff was friendly and attentive from start to finish."

5.0 Review from J.B. Source: Google Oct 26 2022

"Dr. Thyssen and his staff are attentive, doing everything possible to make the experience a positive one."

5.0 Review from S. Source: Google Oct 26 2021

"Dr. Thyssen is an OUTSTANDING doctor - the best! He is knowledgeable, his diagnoses always right on the mark and his skill impeccable. He is also a compassionate and caring doctor, a rarity in today's medical field. I would highly recommend him."

5.0 Review from N.M. Source: Google Oct 26 2021

"Attention to patient is excellent and care and concern is evident."

5.0 Review from W. Source: Google Oct 26 2021

"Love him. He is really a wonderful person who listens. I have known him for 26 years. I enjoy going to the doctor. At least this one."

5.0 Review from P.A. Source: Google Oct 26 2021

"Everybody was nice sweet"

5.0 Review from A.G. Source: Google Oct 26 2021

"Friendly, efficient and proficient. Skilled, talented and personable."

5.0 Review from A.G. Source: Google Oct 26 2021

"The SIG team is the Best!!! I don't normally do reviews but I had too for this great group...I have worked in Healthcare for 20 years ( so I've seen it all) and I can say that Dr. Thyssen and his team went above and beyond my expectations! This was my first experience with Dr Thyssen, my appointment / procedure went seamlessly from beginning to the end, this group is on top of their game!!! They were prompt with scheduling, my procedure , check up and results. They also were able to provide pricing for the procedure(prior to it being done) which eased my mind. All of the staff were very kind too. It's very difficult to find a doctor, let alone, a team of knowledgable doctors who truly listen to their patients and have a great bedside manner. Thank You, to the SIG team & Dr Thyssen for a great experience! You guys are truly a diamond in the rough these days!!!"

5.0 Review from R.J. Source: Google Oct 26 2021

"Dr. Thyssen was very personable and patient in answering my post-procedure questions, as were his support staff. The experience was calm, smooth and very professional. I cannot rate Dr. Thyssen and the Advanced Endoscopy Center too highly!"

5.0 Review from S.D. Source: Google Oct 26 2021

"Wonderful team of people work here. Very caring and helpful. Dr Thyssen is the best!"

5.0 Review from D.N. Source: Google Oct 26 2021

"You couldn't ask for a better Doctor, than Dr. Thyssen. He is kind, caring and knows his stuff ! He has been our Doctor for MANY years. Out whole family goes to him. Our Family has a long history of stomach problems. He is the VERY best ! And the other Doctor, Jennifer is a GREAT doctor too!! I can't say enough good things about them. They are like Family to us !!"

5.0 Review from E.D. Source: Google Oct 26 2021

"Dr Erik is the best, he’s a Godsend, this was not my first time for a procedure with him and as usual he was kind, concerned and caring as well as patient. I would recommend him to anyone. God Bless you Dr. Thyssen"

5.0 Review from T.H. Source: Google Oct 26 2021

"outstanding professional service by all from check in to check out"

5.0 Review from A.A. Source: Google Oct 26 2021

"Dr. Thyssen was expert, thorough, courteous, reassuring."

5.0 Review from P.G. Source: Google Oct 26 2021

"I have great respect for Dr. Thyssen. I have been going here for 20+ years as colon cancer runs in my family. He is very thorough and very knowledgeable. His staff is also the best and everyone does a fabulous job at this facility."

5.0 Review from P.W. Source: Google Oct 26 2021

"Dr. Thyssen is the best! He has a great personality and everyone I’ve spoken to has a lot of respect for him as a physician and as a person. He has performed numerous Upper GIs and Colonoscopys on me and I trust his expertise recommendations!"

5.0 Review from M.M. Source: Google Oct 26 2021

"I was very pleased with everything SIG. From the minute I walked in to the time I was released, everyone was kind, quick, and efficient doing their individual jobs. In particular I’d like to mention Tonya, who was right by my side every time I needed help. A huge thank you to all."

5.0 Review from S.C. Source: Google Oct 26 2021

"Dr Thyssen is the best and always has time to explain procedures and possible causes. He makes his patients comfortable with their choice."

5.0 Review from D.R. Source: Google Oct 26 2021

"All those involved were very professional and made the experience a more bearable one, considering that a colonoscopy is not a fun experience. Dr. Thyssen is amazing!"

5.0 Review from L.S. Source: Google Oct 26 2021

"Dr. Thyssen and the entire SIG staff are superb!"

5.0 Review from L.W. Source: Google Oct 26 2021

"It was great, everyone was so loving and caring. They made my experience so smooth. Thanks to all."

5.0 Review from C.D. Source: Google Oct 26 2021

"I am a long-time patient of Dr. Thyssen, so today’s positive experience was no surprise. The worst part of colonoscopy is the prep, but even it has improved over the years. The staff at SIG were friendly, professional, competent and prompt. The procedure was accomplished without discomfort and results shared with me before I was discharged. Dr. Thyssen is an extraordinary physician!"

5.0 Review from T.D. Source: Google Oct 26 2021

"Has a very good experience - great doctor, facility and staff. Am glad I went there."

5.0 Review from B.I. Source: Google Oct 26 2021

"The staff is a great team of healthcare professionals — kind, courteous, warm and respectful. Thank you."

5.0 Review from B.H. Source: Google Oct 26 2021

"Great people very professional"

5.0 Review from S.S. Source: Google Oct 26 2021

"Not something a person looks forward to but Dr. Thysseen made a note in his file the last time I was there about my playing golf and ask about my playing this time. Nice touch, making it more personable."

5.0 Review from B.A. Source: Google Oct 26 2021

"I have been a patient of Dr. Thyssen for over 30 years. The professionalism on display in his practice is eclipsed only by Dr. Thyssen himself. I cannot imagine being able to find a more compassionate, dedicated person of medicine anywhere. He seems as much a friend as a doctor."

5.0 Review from J.R. Source: Google Oct 26 2021

"Great, caring and compassionate doctor and staff!"

5.0 Review from J.B. Source: Google Oct 26 2021

"Each member of the team exceeded expectations. The nurses, anesthesiologist, and Dr. Thyssen, were thoroughly prepared to provide patients with a warm and welcoming environment. They clearly were well trained and highly competent. Because of their professional expertise and attentiveness to detail, the patient is put at ease while undergoing what otherwise could be a stressful experience."

5.0 Review from D.M. Source: Google Oct 26 2020

"I needed a colonoscopy, Dr. Thyssen did it on a Sunday."

5.0 Review from P.B. Source: Google Oct 26 2019

"I’ve been going to Dr. Thyssen for many years. He’s always professional, has a great bedside manner and makes sure you have all of your questions answered before you leave. When You have a scheduled appointment there’s never a long wait time. The staff is always very friendly and helpful, which I think is very important. Dr. Thyssen was recommended to me, and I’ve recommended him to several people. All the people that I have recommended to him have been very satisfied."