Gluten is the protein part of wheat and other related grains. It is contained in many commercial food products. Gluten is used as a binder in many products including medicines and even envelope adhesives. Staying compliant with the diet is a hard, but manageable task. Please read both sides of this form. Support group information is provided. Consultation with a dietician is recommended.
What can you eat:
These foods are healthy and safe: Meat (all non-processed meat and some hot dogs), fish, poultry, most soy products, eggs, dairy products (most cheese – see next page), vegetables, beans, nuts, peanut butter, fruit, white rice, brown rice and rice-based cereals.
These beverages can be consumed: Water, coffee, tea, milk, soda (and some root beer), juice, certain protein shakes, fruit smoothies, wine, gin and vodka.
These grains can be consumed: Amaranth, arrowroot, buckwheat, corn, millet, quinoa, sorghum, and tapioca. Oats and oatmeal are safe if prepared without cross contamination with wheat products during manufacturing.
These flours can be consumed: Cornmeal, garfava, nut, potatoes, quinoa, rice and soybean.
These seasonings and condiments can be consumed: Salt, pepper, rice vinegar, wine vinegar, oil, butter, cooking spray, margarine, mayonnaise, some mustards, a few ketchups, a few soy sauces, herbs, food coloring, most spices (except curry powder, some cinnamon, some alcohol-based flavoring extracts), jelly, jam, most molasses, honey and sugar.
Breakfast ideas: Rice cereals (including sugar pops, corn pops, puffed rice, hot rice cereal, cream of rice), eggs, egg white omelets, yogurt with fruit, cottage cheese and grapefruit.
Gluten-free bread alternatives: Available at Schnucks (Mason/Olive), Whole Foods, Wild Oats, Breadsmith (10031 Manchester; 314-822-8200: call to order on the first Thursday of each month), or bake fresh with Betty Hagman: Gourmet Gluten Free Baking Bread Cookbook.
Gluten-free pasta alternatives: A variety of “pastas” are available a Wild Oats and Whole Foods – these are usually made from corn or quinoa. Oriental rice and bean thread noodles are available there and at Oriental markets.
Snack and dessert options: Rice and popcorn cakes, popcorn, some potato chips, rice crackers and wafers, soy chips, pure corn tortillas, cold veggies, fruit, trail mix, nuts, seeds, some protein bars, some ice creams, sorbets, some sherbets, frozen yogurt, meringue cookies, mousse, chocolate, marshmallows, and some candy.
What you cannot eat:
The following food, beverages and food products must be omitted in order to stay compliant with a gluten-free diet. Patients with celiac disease must be 100% gluten-free. Labels on any packaged foods need to be carefully examined.
Omit all gluten-containing foods: Breading, breadcrumbs, most cereal products, coating, communion wafers, croutons, most flour, imitation bacon and seafood, some commercial marinades, pasta, processed meats, roux, sauces with thickening, self basting poultry, stuffing and most thickeners.
Omit all gluten-containing beverages: Beer, rye, scotch, whiskey, malt-containing drinks, some non-dairy creamers, some commercial chocolate milk and some root beer.
Examples of gluten-containing commercial products: creamed vegetables, some canned vegetables and beans, thickened or prepared fruits, some salad dressings, some bouillon, some broth, certain candies, some corn syrup, yeast, certain medicines using gluten-fillers, and many ketchups and some mustards.
Omit any prepared foods with the following ingredients: Emulsifier, flavoring, all gluten-containing thickening agents, some vegetable gums, hydrolyzed plant protein, stabilizer, starch, some brown rice syrup, caramel color, dextrin, and malt vinegar.
Celiac Disease Foundation: 13251 Ventura; Studio City, CA 91604; 818-990-2354; www.celiac.org Buy their booklet: “Guidelines for a gluten-free lifestyle”.
Celiac Sprue Association: Box 31700, Omaha, NE 68131-0700; 402-558-0600; www.csaceliacs.org
Gluten Intolerance Group: 15110 10th Ave.; Seattle, WA 98166; 206-246-6652; www.gluten.net
Gluten Disease Resource Center: www.celiac.com
In St. Louis there are two local support groups:
St. Louis Alerts – http://health.groups.yahoo.com/group/stlouisalerts
St. Louis Chapter of the Celiac Disease Support Group – contacts include Bill Velios (314-391-6855), Joan Fitzsimmon (314-351-5114), Steve Zenisek (e-mail Z1950@aol.com) and Linda Ritter (e-mail firstname.lastname@example.org)
Practical guide to diet: www.Icanhavethat.com
Good guide to medicines: www.glutenfreedrugs.com
Guide to restaurants: www.glutenfreerestaurants.com